Message

Your presence is my present


I am no longer interested in Christmas shopping, gift wrapping or whatever the thing that people usually do during this time of the year. Christmas celebration is such a commercial thing nowadays. As I learned about the pagan origin of Christmas I am not here to condemn those Christians or non Christians alike who celebrate it whether for the reason of remembering the birth of Jesus Christ or just a year end get-together with friends and family. I do enjoy the part of catching up and spending time with friends in a season such as this, nevertheless.

The thing I hate the most is gift exchange though it is a happy thing to most people. I used to attend some Christmas functions and also the year end celebration every year in the company I formerly worked at whereby we were asked to prepare our gifts priced a certain amount so it would be fair to both the giver and the receiver. And I felt that it was such an obligation to follow! Worst thing of all is when I received something that I do not find any use for me personally at all and would end up in the rubbish bin eventually. It is not that I am being unappreciative but this kind of gift exchange thingy is set with some obligations to follow and not based of the generosity of the giver. Should not the receiver be open and grateful for whatever gift he or she receives too? But the point is it is meaningless to give and receive material gifts. I do not mean that it is a bad gesture at all either.

This year I am glad I do not have to go to any obligated gift exchange function. But I had just attended two Christmas gatherings at friends’ open house. Of course, I did not go empty handed. I am thankful for the invitation and the gifts. Most of all I thank them for their friendship. I am happy that I did NOT receive a lot of gifts this year, really.

As I have been pondering upon this whole thing about Christmas celebration I have come to realize on thing that people – friends and family are our gifts. Their everyday presence in our life is our precious present. The giver is the gift. It is priceless. What more can we ask for?

More so God Himself is the Giver of His own Son, Jesus Christ, to us.

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. – John 3:16 (KJV)

Merry Christmas holiday!

Message to those who know me personally, please leave me out of your Christmas gift receiver shopping list from next year onwards. Do not feel bad about it because I have asked for it.

Leave a Reply

